Force India unveil new look for 2014

22 January 2014 01:01

Force India on Wednesday became the first Formula One team to reveal their new car for the 2014 season.

Or at least a partial glimpse, as the team backed by Vijay Mallya released a single photograph of the VJM07 on their official website.

The new car, which will be driven by Mexico's Sergio Perez, dropped by McLaren after one season, and Nico Hulkenberg, is kitted out in traditional Indian colours of saffron, white and green on a black background.

"I've always believed our cars have been the most eye-catching, but adding black as a main colour gives us a fierce new look," said Mallya.

"The VJM07 looks stunning and the new livery reflects the way Sahara Force India is evolving," added the boss of the Kingfisher brewery.

Force India, along with their rival teams (apart from Lotus), will start testing at Spain's Jerez circuit next week.

Further internet glimpses of 2014 models are expected from McLaren, Ferrari and Sauber over the coming weekend.

Red Bull, Mercedes and Caterham are waiting until the start of testing on Tuesday to roll out their new models.

Force India finished sixth in the constructors' championship in 2013 and the British-based team have their sights on bettering that performance this campaign.

Mallya told the BBC: "We've got to aim higher than last year. It's an ambitious goal, but I believe it's a realistic one because we have to look forward and take the fight to the teams ahead of us.

"We have the key elements in place to continue moving forward."

The 2014 season, which ushers in a sweeping set of rule changes, begins with the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne on March 16.


Plus que jamais financée par le flamboyant milliardaire indien Vijay Mallya, d'où les initiales de la nouvelle voiture, VJM, Force India, 6e du championnat constructeurs en 2013, derrière McLaren et devant Sauber, a adopté un nouveau look pour la saison qui s'annonce.

En attendant, Force India a grillé la politesse à toutes ses rivales, puisque les prochains lancements sur internet sont prévus vendredi (McLaren), samedi (Ferrari) et dimanche (Sauber). Quant à Red Bull, Mercedes et Caterham, ils attendront mardi matin, et le début des essais de Jerez, pour dévoiler leurs nouvelles monoplaces.

Source: AFP